Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Re-Hab or not?

Hi everyone,
    I am looking for opinions on whether it is best to go to re-hab or go right home. My Surgeon says it depends on how I do in hospital & that PT will make the decision as to whether I need re-hab, but if I definitely want to do it I can. I have been told that I will have to have someone with me for 1 month post-op!! I am having anterior & posterior done from T-12 to at least L-5 and maybe to S-1. I have a 64 degree curve with a lot of degeneration.
    He will be using my rib for fusion.
    Thanks for any advice.
    You are all so helpful.
    Ellen

Post Surgical Rehab

Ellen,
    I had spinal fusion July 10 and 13th. My husband was very helpful when I came home from the hospital, but my mother stayed with us for 6 weeks and cared for most of my needs.

If you do not have support at home I think rehab would be the way to go. Research the facilities in your area. Go to visit and try to speak to former patients. There is a huge difference in rehab facilities.

SandyB
    [SIZE=3]Sandy B
    Spinal Fusion 7/13/06
    Dr. William A. Lauerman
    Georgetown University Medical Center[
    /SIZE]

Comment

I think that the choice is based on many factors such as: How you are doing in the hospital, how your house set up (on one floor or two), how many stairs you would have to negotiate both inside and outside of the house, if all necessary items will be accessible to you 24 hours a day (ie: food, clothing).