Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Lots of questions!

Hi All,

I'm new to the forum, and I just found out a few days ago that I have to have surgery. Although I've been preparing myself to hear this for about 2 years, it still came as a shock to me, and I'm starting to freak out! Surgery is scheduled for January 3, 2007.

I have quite a few questions... Any info would be much appreciated!

I was told that I'll be in the hospital for 7 days after the surgery. Dr. Boachie at the Hospital for Special Surgery is doing it. My questions are mainly about after I leave the hospital. What happens?! I live about an hour from the hospital...can I go normally in a car or do I have to take some other mode of transportation? How long until I'll be able to walk up a flight of stairs? How long until I'm fairly self sufficient?

Also, is there an easy way to sleep? (I have a feather bed on my bed right now, i'm assuming I should take that off?) And, regarding rehab/PT, when does that start?

I wasn't really given too much info when I saw the dr, so thanks in advance for any details post-op you can give me.

Lesly

surgery w/ boachie

leslie - dont hav post op wisdom yet . keep reading other posts they hav been helpful to us. my daughter is having her surgery w/ dr. boachie oct. 17. all i can say is dont overwelm yourself too quick take one day & one step at @ a time to prepare. good luck to u. boachie is one of the best. have faith & surrender to your situation. longislandmom

Comment