Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

First time to this forum - reassurance??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First time to this forum - reassurance??

Hello everyone - this is my first time here as I was recently diagnosed with a 50 degree upper and 47 or so degree lower S curve. I am going for some bending tests to see if my spine is flexible enough to just fuse the top curve. I've read all kinds of stuff on the internet, and it just seems really scary. The most major surgery I've ever had was my wisdom teeth. And I don't know why, but the catheter thing really freaks me out too. I guess I just need some support and stories about what others have gone through post op. My doctor says it's about a 6 hour surgery, in the hospital for 4-5 days, and you're walking within a few days or so. 6 months to a complete recovery with sports and everything. Has this been the case with you all?

Thanks!
    32 y/o male
    S curve - upper, 50 degrees, lower 43 degrees
    Waiting and watching after seeing 2 doctors...

Hi Brian,

Hello and welcome to this forum!!! You have come to the right place, if you are contemplating this surgery. We have all had different experiences!!! None of us can sum it up with one simple answer to any of your questions.

We don't know what you have read, so it's hard to respond. I personally loved the catheter, didn't have to get out of bed to relieve myself. Everyone here is willing to give you all the support you need.

Shari

Comment

Welcome Brian,