Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My surgery is around the corner...

Hi All,

I'm new to posting. I've been reading all the posts for several months now and as time nears (Sept 22), I'm definitely getting more and more nervous. I'm really glad I was turned on to this, as this has helped me in many ways.

I took the time last Friday to watch the live operation out of Akron Ohio and I can honestly say, that it was interesting to me. ...but I like that kind of stuff! It was neat to see how technology has come a long way...scary that it's going to be happening to me. I know that I have a great doctor and the love and support of my family.

Any words of advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm being fused from T-4 to L4/5 and I have a 40/51 degree "S" curve.

Hi there,

Welcome to the forum!

I have not had surgery and am currently doing a lot of research on my options and risks for the future. I always like to ask people with similar curves as me why they are having surgery.

What finalized the decision for you to have surgery? How old are you?

Best of luck,
    Jamie

Comment

Hi and welcome to the forum,

I'm glad that the forum has helped you and hope you're doing ok as surgery nears. I, like the other person who just posted, would like to know more about your situation. Where are you having the surgery done?

We will be thinking about you as you go into surgery.

Best,
      Anya
      "You must be the change you want to see in the world."

Previously 55 degree thoracolumbar curve
      Surgery June 5, 2007 - Dr. Clifford Tribus, University of Wisconsin Hospital
      19 degrees post-op!

http://abhbarry.blogspot.com

Comment

Welcome -

It is so completely normal to be nervous before an operation of this magnitude. Just educate yourself so that you pretty much know what to expect and ask all the questions you want. We are not doctors, but many of us have had spinal fusions and can offer advice from a personal point of view.
        Brandi