Just diagnosed at 29

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Just diagnosed at 29

Last friday I was diagnosed with "mild scoliosis" as part of a physical for work. A chest xray revealed a lateral curve in my lumbar area. I've had chronic back pain since about age 23 and never thought much about it. It comes and goes and I've learned to deal with it.

Now I have the reason why and I'm a bit overwhelmed by all the information i've read today on types of treatment. I'm an otherwise healthy 29 year old male and I think I need to begin doing some sort of targeted excerises or stretching. I would seek out a physical therapist but I'm a self supported student without insurance so that's pretty much out for the time being.

From reading this message board I do not have the curve severity as many of you but I do have frequent pain and now that I know what the problem is I would like to start addressing it. I welcome any comments or suggestions.

regards

Ryan

If your scoliosis mild then don't worry about it. There won't be any restrictions on your activities or any special exercises you need to be doing. Forgot about wasting money on a therapist. It's also very possible that your backpain is unrelated to your scoliosis.

Comment

Hi...

I agree with magicman. More than 80% of adults have at least occasional back pain.

Regards,
      Linda
      Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
      ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
      Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
      Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment

Just wanted to say that you are not alone. I too was diagnosed with scoliosis at 29. Don't know how it went undetected that long but you know what they say, better late than never.

Brandi
        Brandi