PDA

View Full Version : Just diagnosed at 29

xzjn9p
08-21-2006, 01:13 PM
Last friday I was diagnosed with "mild scoliosis" as part of a physical for work. A chest xray revealed a lateral curve in my lumbar area. I've had chronic back pain since about age 23 and never thought much about it. It comes and goes and I've learned to deal with it.

Now I have the reason why and I'm a bit overwhelmed by all the information i've read today on types of treatment. I'm an otherwise healthy 29 year old male and I think I need to begin doing some sort of targeted excerises or stretching. I would seek out a physical therapist but I'm a self supported student without insurance so that's pretty much out for the time being.

From reading this message board I do not have the curve severity as many of you but I do have frequent pain and now that I know what the problem is I would like to start addressing it. I welcome any comments or suggestions.

regards

Ryan

magicman
08-21-2006, 03:18 PM
If your scoliosis mild then don't worry about it. There won't be any restrictions on your activities or any special exercises you need to be doing. Forgot about wasting money on a therapist. It's also very possible that your backpain is unrelated to your scoliosis.

LindaRacine
08-21-2006, 03:20 PM
Hi...

I agree with magicman. More than 80% of adults have at least occasional back pain.

Regards,
Linda

bbest
08-21-2006, 07:44 PM
Just wanted to say that you are not alone. I too was diagnosed with scoliosis at 29. Don't know how it went undetected that long but you know what they say, better late than never. :)

Brandi

javaboy
08-21-2006, 11:39 PM
Another 29-year-old here with a similar situation - mine is congenital and thoracic, but mild like yours.
I'm in Australia, where we don't have the same insurance cover problems, so it's been pretty easy for me to get physical therapy help, but I agree with the others - you can do so much without even needing to see a therapist, especially if it's mild.