has anyone had surgery for pain??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• has anyone had surgery for pain??

i am contemplating having surgery for pain issues. I have a 42 degree thoracic and 40 degree lumbar curve (i know, not too bad), but i have been experiencing constant pain in my back for around 4 years now. i am young, almost 19, but is there anyone out there with this problem? if i didn't have pain i wouldn't even remotely be comtemplating this, and i have gone through all of the options- PT, cortizone injections, pain meds, yoga, tons of exercise, lidocaine patches, TENs unit, etc. etc. etc.....

just wondering if anyone else is having an experience anything like this or has had surgery to control pain?? ...and has it helped and was it worth it?

-abbie
    aBbiE
    22 yr old F,KU college student
    Kyphoscoliosis...
    Scoliosis (25T, 23L) diagnosed @ 14 yrs old; curves June 08 were 45T, 32L with 18 degree rotation
    Kyphosis of 65 degrees...
    I am missing a lumbar vertebrae

Surgery 6/30/2008 with Dr. Lawrence Lenke
    Fused T2-L2

before/after pics
    all smiles!

I have had back pain all of my life, most of the time it has been controllable with advil. Last year the pain has gotten progressively worse radiating to my butt and right leg. The pain is what made me seek out a scoliosis surgeon. I tried many things before considering surgery. Steroid shots physical therapy and chiro. They did not help me but they are worth a try before surgery. I have a 55 degree lumbar curve. I am having surgery next month.
    surgery 9/06
    Rothman institute

Comment

Hi Abbie,

I think the pain was the driving force for almost all of our surgeries. To answer you last question, I can honestly say that all the pain I had before the surgery, I no longer have. I feel in a way that I traded pains though.