Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does physio help with the pain longterm??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does physio help with the pain longterm??

Hi guys.

I have a thoracic/lumbar curve of about 30 degrees and I know that I'm scheduled to have an operation next year. I find the pain really bad at times - especially after long periods of exercise, walking or even standing up. But most of the time, it's more of a dull ache that I can almost ignore.
    I don't want to have to rely on paracetamol for this pain so I was thinking about going for physio... is there any1 out there who has physio and thinks that it truly helps? Or are there simply some exercises I can do at home to ease the pain?? I'd be grateful if any1 could reply.

Jen x x
    Jenny
    18 years old
    Sept '04 - Diagnosed with 40° thoracic/lumbar curve
    Sept '07 - anterior spinal fusion T8-L2

physio treatment in England

I will be taking my 22 year old daughter to a physical therapy clinic in WI, US that specializes in scoliosis treatment soon and hope that she will be able to manage her symptoms and slow the progression of her curves. While shopping for a treatment program, I came across a clinic in Suffolk, UK, which appears to do the same. It was started by a young woman with scoliosis who claims to have had longterm relief from treatment at another clinic in Spain. Her UK clinic is run similarly to the one where she received treatment. Check out her website at erikamaude.com. Good luck!
    -Jen.

Comment

I am attending my first Physio class on Friday so I will tell you how it goes. My doctor advised physio for me as I have alot of pain (even know )
      Adolescent Idiopathic Thoracic Lumbar Scoliosis

Back Pain started in October 2001
      Diagnosed - June 2003

Thoracic and Lumbar curves- 37 degrees
      Started Hospital examination - June 2003
      Discharged from hospital - November 2006

Comment

Hi Jen, thanks for the info... I'll check it out!!