Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• what to ask??

Hello Everyone,

First, thanks to all of you who share and give advice. It helps so much, just knowing I'm not alone and that people do listen. I have not posted very much, just reading and learning mostly. I am a 35 years old. I have a 54 degree thoracic curve with osteodegeneration.

I am finally going on my first "real" surgical consultation next Wednesday with Dr. Kebaish at John's Hopkin's. I'm looking forward to talking with someone who knows what he is doing. For the most part I know what I'm planning to ask. But, I would love to hear from the surgery "veterans" out there, please suggest any questions that you feel I should ask. I want to be as prepared as I can. Thank so much.

Questions!

Great question! I've been wondering the same thing.
    All I can tell you is questions I plan on asking, I'm seeing the Dr. next week.

1. How soon can I return to work.
    2. When can I drive?
    3. What part of my back needs to be fused, which vertebrea?
    4. Where will bone graft be taken from?
    5. How long will I be in hospital?
    6. Will I need to wear a brace? How long?
    7. Will I need PT/home health?
    8. How will pain be managed?
    9. What can I do before and after surgery to help healing process?
    10. Is minimally invasive fusion an option?
    11. How many procedures do you preform?
    12. What are typical outcomes?
    13. How much correction can I expect?
    14. How long will my surgery take?
    15. Which hospital do you use?
    16. Will I get a private room?
    17. Do they allow children to visit?
    18. How can I sleep? On back, belly, side?
    19. What are general restrictions?
    20. Do I need to bank blood? Can family members donate for me?
    I'll let you know if I think of anymore!
    Good Luck!
    jsully
    Almost forgot, Where will incision(s) be?
    Last edited by jsully; 07-27-2006, 03:46 PM.
    36 year young cardiac RN
    old curve C 29, T 70, L 50