Post Op Sciatic Pain

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Post Op Sciatic Pain

Hi everyone, This is my first time posting in a forum, so I hope I can get some help. I am 3 weeks post op for a L5 S1 anterior and posterior fusion with a bone graft from my left posterior pelvis. My problem pre op was spondylolothesis at L5 S1, with rt posterior sciatic pain along the outside of my leg as far as the knee. Post op the pain was gone. However, after 10 days of walking 1.5 miles per day I developed severe sciatic pain on the inside of my rt leg going down as far as my big toe. Went back to the surgeon, had a ct to make sure the hardware was still in place. Results were good. Now 2 weeks after the pain began, it is worse than ever. I spent last night in the ER. Was giver morphine, torodol, and ativan. Was able to sleep for a few hours, but when the drugs wore off, it was as bad as it was when i got there. I am taking lortab 10mg, 2 every 4-6 hrs. with little relief, neurontin 300 mg 3 times a day and flexeril 3 times a day. I am at the point where i can't really stand the pain anymore, physically or emotionally. Someone please help with advice. Thanks so much, Peace.

Yikes... that must be pretty depressing.

The only thing I can offer is that I started having sciatica about 6 weeks post-op. My surgeon asked me to back off on sitting for any length of time. I did that, and the sciatica went away.

I hope you find a non-surgical solution!

Regards,
    Linda
    Never argue with an idiot. They always drag you down to their level, and then they beat you with experience. --Twain
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Surgery 2/10/93 A/P fusion T4-L3
    Surgery 1/20/11 A/P fusion L2-sacrum w/pelvic fixation

Comment

sciatica post-op