Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pregnancy

Hi,

Has anyone had severe scoliosis and have been pregnant at the same time.
    If so what did they feel? Was it hard for them to cope?

I have a 50 degree curve in my upper spine and 50 degree in lower spine.

Thanks
    Had surgery May 28th 2007 Anterior/Posterior getting fused from T3 - L3

http://curvedgirl.blogspot.com

Mine was pretty normal

Hi LeeLee and welcome,

I had a similar double curve, pretty well balanced, like yours with my 3 pregnancies. It went pretty normally, actually. Had morning sickness the first few months(runs in my family). I felt pretty good through most of the pregnancy, was very healthy. I did everything I had before, swam, rode my bicycle, walked, etc.

Towards the end of the pregnancy, when the baby was large, it did cause a few muscle spasms in my back and around my hips. Usually they would go away if I changed position or rubbed the area. The movement of the baby when it was awake would start them up at times, but women without scoliosis also have this

I also continued to go to my family chiropractor as they are able to do adjustments even when you are expecting; they just do them a little differently to avoid pressure on the abdomen.

I did not have epidurals; all three were born naturally without drugs in the hospital, but you can have an epidural if you have not been surgically fused in the lower spine.

If you are considering pregnancy, get a check-up with both your primary doctor and your scoliosis orthopedic doctor and discuss it with them. If you are healthy and not haviing surgery in the near future, it should be fine. It was one of the highpoints of my life and I wish we could have had a dozen if we could have afforded them (and a nanny)!!

There are also some other threads on this forum discussing pregnancy and childbirth if you search which may be interesting for you to read.

Deb

Comment

Leelee,