Weight lifting anyone?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weight lifting anyone?

Hey guys I would be lying to you if I said I didn't love to lift weights. Lately I've been over the top and really enjoying it. (I think the before picture the doctor took of me in my undergarments was the motivator) I really want to see a big difference in the before and after pictures. I'm wondering though if anyone else has had this surgery and gotten back into lifting weights. I've been working a lot on upperbody and core training. Any recommendations and will I really be out of the gym for a year?

I started lifting weights years after my surgery without problems. BUT, I started with 2 lb. free weights and gradually increased the weight over many months and years. I work with the free weights and various bars as well as the machines and other apparatus at my local gym. I will never bench press. I strongly suggest that you show your post-surgical x-rays to a highly qualified trainer and work with him/her.
    Shelley
    Harrington Rods 12/66
    Fused T-3 to L-3

Comment

Of course, I'll preface this by saying check with your Dr. first before trying anything...

But at 3.5 months post-op I started with some light weights at my Physical Therapy office. So long as I am lying flat on my back, I can do all sorts of exercises (working arms, chest, shoulders). By staying on my back, I can't use my back muscles improperly or twist or bend at all. Also, as I do pilates-like moves, I am able to add ankle weights for more resistance. As for doing anything requiring a bar that rests on your shoulders (like squats at a smith machine), I hear that is really out because it puts so much stress on the spine.
      Meg is Spinewhine
      31 years old with thoracic curve
      Wore Boston brace as teenager, but curve continued to progress.
      Surgery on 12/13/2005 with correction from over 55 degrees to under 25 degrees. (Ya baby!)

The nitty gritty at: