Flexibility

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Flexibility

Hi everyone. I’ve never submitted a post but I don’t feel new because I’ve been reading some of your comments for a few weeks now.

Brief intro. I’m 26 (w/no children). I have a 58 degree thoracolumbar curve. It’s somewhat genetic since my mom also has scoliosis. She has very big curve but she’s not in daily pain - nothing that would require therapy or pills. She just can’t stand for too long without sitting to rest her hips/back (so no strolling the mall for 4 hours without a break ). This may mean I have some insight into how I’ll look and feel 30yrs from now. Still doesn’t help with a decision around surgery because I’m debating this as either not having surgery and facing occasional pain like mom (and of course disfigurement) or trying to fix the situation but exposing myself to unknown issues (broken rods, repeat surgeries, early arthritis, etc.). And yes, Dr Boachie recommends surgery…but on my own time so I’ll meet with him again next Jan.

Here’s my question for the group. How flexible are you after the surgery? Can you still do yoga, pilates, curl into a ball, dance etc? Or is the fused area completely stiff? I was under the impression that I’d still be generally flexible (especially since I’d only be fused to L1- can’t recall the starting point) but I recently read something that suggested otherwise so I’d appreciate hearing about your experiences in this area.

Thanks
    Rox

I can't do yoga, can dance(not right now since I'm 3 months post op revision surgery for a broken rod and non union), but not at the same level I could dance before b/c I can't bend backwards too much, and I'm much more stiff than before surgery. I was in pain before surgery but could still bend a LOT. I miss some of that flexibility, like driving those really low sportcars- can't do that anymore, too painful.