Surgery on the horizon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surgery on the horizon

Hi everyone, I'm completely new to this whole thing. Not just back surgery but this chat room thingy. (I assume this is a chat room, but really am not sure Just got my second opinion and I'm headed to Boston for surgery. I'm waiting for my surgery date. Kind of nervous about the comute home. Three hours in the car doesn't sound like fun. I had a question regarding the size of the rod. They said from T2-L3. Any ideas where that's located. A web site with pictures would be great!! Anyway just going through the initial shock and trying to put this all together. It was nice running into this though. It's easy to feel isolated and knowing there are others at the tips of my fingers walking the same road is encouraging.

Hi there and welcome! I have pics on my bog of my rods - which are from T4 to T-12. Yours would be two vertabrae more on top, and three vertabrae more on the bottom than mine are. T stands for thoracic, which is the most of the middle of your back (rib cage area) and L stands for lumbar, which is your lower back. Each vertabrae is numbered, starting from the top, so T-1 is your first thoracic vertabra, T-2 your second, etc. Hope that helps!
    Meg is Spinewhine
    31 years old with thoracic curve
    Wore Boston brace as teenager, but curve continued to progress.
    Surgery on 12/13/2005 with correction from over 55 degrees to under 25 degrees. (Ya baby!)

The nitty gritty at:
    http://spinewhine.blogspot.com/

Comment

Hi Peachtree

This is really good picture which shows what Meg was saying. Just click on the link and it will show where all thoses T's and L's are!

http://www.sisonline.org/pages/spine.html

I am off to hospital tomorrow for surgery Wednesday and will be fused T3-L5 so as soon as I can I will put a photo up on my blog for you to see (gotta get it done first!).