Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• my surgery story

Hello everyone,
    I had a major lumbar curve around 70 degrees and have a thoracic curve about 60 degrees. I had 2 part surgery on November 15th and 22nd. The first surgery went smoothly and I did not even need a blood transfusion. After the second surgery I was supposed to be fused from sacrum to T3 but I started bleeding heavily and the surgeon fused sacrum to T8 only. I lost one and a half liters of blood and required 8 units of replacement blood. The surgeon said that I could come back in a few months to fuse T7 to T3. I already have a cervical fusion from C4 to C7. If I get fused to T3 I will only have T1 to T3 unfused, and the doctor said that the chances are good that I will have to get those fused sometime in the future. He also said that my thoracic curve will not worsen, since I am fused above and below and I may even get some correction. So now I have a 15 degree fused lumbar curve and a 60 degree thoracic curve. I guess I am disappointed with the results somewhat since my shoulder levels are still uneven. But I tried on some dresses today and I still looked pretty symmetrical. I'm thinking of postponing the surgery for the thoracic fusion as long as possible. I hate making these decisions, I agonized over whether to fuse all the way to the sacrum as the doctor left the decision up to me. Next summer I am going to Philadelphia and will take my xrays with me for some opinions. I would love to hear from anyone in this predicament, but I get the feeling that I'm unique. I hope this post makes sense, I'm still taking those nasty oxycontins.

my surgery story

Hello Linda,

I am a 56-year-old woman contemplating surgery for a 75 degree lumbar curve which would require fusion to the sacrum. Since you've already had this surgery, can you tell me how much mobility and flexibility you have lost. Can you bend at all?

Chris

Comment

ChrisWB,