Growing Rods?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Growing Rods?

Hi, this is my first time writing on NSF. My daughter, Hannah, was diagnosed earlier this year with idiopathic scoliosis. She has an s curve and is now at 60 degrees and 43 degrees. We know she needs surgery. We are looking into growing rods versus spinal fusion because she just turned 9 years old. I would like some feedback/input on the growing rods if anyone has any. Thanks, Agnes

hi agnes - although my scoliosis is the adolescent type, there are two other scoli patients in the village where i live. one is adolescent like me and the other has congenital scoliosis and for a little over two years has had growth rods in his back. all three of us have the same surgeon - my surgery is complete, the other teenage girl is on the waiting list and the boy with growth rods is hopefully keeping his current rods for a little longer before he has fusion.

have your daughter's doctors suggested growth rods as a treatment for her? it depends where you live, who you see and what their attitudes are. the boy i know was having his rods adjusted (they literally open you up and crank something to extend them - sorry that's a bit graphic but i don't know the technical terminology) every four months but is waiting six months this time before he has it done again, and it's working for him.

i doubt any surgeon would want to fuse your daughter at 9 years old and i guess that with curves this size a brace may not be effective in holding the curves until she is 12 or so. i'd be interested to know where you're from etc and maybe i can remember some more stuff about the people i know to help a bit more.

it's worth noting that the boy i know has more problems than scoliosis - he's had many surgeries already (he's 13) for various things and so sometimes his surgery gets a little complicated
    diagnosed aged 14 (2001)
    braced from july 2001 to february 2003 to hold curves