X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Scoliosis and fashion design

hi,
    im a final year student studying fashion at uni in belfast
    for my dissertation i am hoping to design and produce a range of designer wear for those of us suffering from scoliosis.i really want to produce some beautiful stylish clothes that can be worn with confidence, as i know from my own experience how difficult it can be to find great clothes that fit well on the high street
    (i wore a boston brace from the age of about 2yrs until i was fifteen and had my op)
    could anyone share the difficulties they have with me?or give me ideas/suggestions?
    thanks so much!!

Helen,
    I personally like dress's with an elastic waist. Tops that are on the "blousey" side so it doesn't show the rib hump as much. Also tunic tops that cover the "no waist" side.
    SandyC

Comment

Helen,

I seem to wear a lot of jackets, but in most cases they need to be a straight box cut, as the fitted do not fit properly through the shoulder blades. Because I have become very short waisted over time I tend to wear things that hit at hip level so it appears that your torso is longer. And of course...nothing clingy as it shows everything.

Sue
      48 year old Female
      3 curves...35, 56, 43
      Proud wearer of Milwaukee Brace in the 70's...and hated every minute of it.

Comment

scared

what if someone has people that like her and maybe since she has to get a size bigger than they wont like her anymore. could that happen? im scared it will since im in middle school. i really need to know what its like. please help!
        needs a milwakee brace in about 2 weeks

I am 13

I live in Kentucky

LOVE rap and hip-hop!

35 degree curve

Comment

Dear Scared,