Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone with Schuemanns Disease(Kyphosis)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone with Schuemanns Disease(Kyphosis)

Hello everyone,

I have a 70 degree thoratic curve with signs of scoliosis to the left. Surgery was mentioned but of course with all the malpractice suits, I was given the resources to research. The pain is getting worse and at age 44 I have been dealing with it for many years and I am leaning towards surgery so any and all replys on surgery are greatly appreciated.

www.iscoliosis.com is a great website but has great success stories on the latest surgery but the problem is they are children who tend to heal much faster. Anyways it mention new techiques such as VAST
    They actually cut 4-5 incisions and enter through the side with microscopes and perform either anterior, posterior or both.

I should stop writing and come to the point sorry. Questions I have

Does the Spinal surgery actually take the pain away with time?
    With this new surgery, I am actually reading 6-8 weeks recovery time Could that be true?
    How long would I need someone to change the dressings?
    Well thats it for now....its now almost 11:00 California time

Good luck to everyone! ANd to think 12years ago I actually had a Othorpedic Dr. tell me the pain is due to depression All I can say is don't give up!

hi curvy

there's a link to another forum in my signature - it's a coincidence that i went to visit a friend from this forum in hospital last friday. he's 36 and had surgery last tuesday (18th october) and he's going to be discharged tomorrow! he had regular posterior surgery plus the anterior technique you mentioned, and he has schuermanns too.