Having second thoughts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Having second thoughts

Maybe it's natural to have 2nd thoughts about having this type of surgery? I've been reading a lot of posts and it seems like everyone who had surgery were having substantial pain and/or problems. I was having intense pain in my right S1, but the episodes have decreased dramatically with gentle chiro work. I have no pain in my spine and have never taken any meds. I feel a twisting in my left ribcage and have occassional stomach discomfort- possibly due to the scoliosis? I am a ballet instructor, most people can't tell by my appearance that I have a problem, and I still enjoy taking class. I have had to cut back on what I do, but I can still do most things, both in the studio (stretch, bend, jump, extend my legs above 90* front and side- back extentions are gone) and out (gardening, hiking, motor boating, household chores). My curves are 70/105/45, and my fusion will be from T1-L5 of sacrum. Have been moving down the road to prepare for the surgery, but now I'm starting to wonder if at this point my quality of life after surgery will decrease rather than improve? I know the surgery has given most of you your lives back, but I'm afraid of losing mine! (Am I whining? I'm sorry) I know that it's wise to do this while I am young(er)- 45- and healthy... any thoughts?

Hi Rosella...

I'm glad I don't have to make that decision. I sympathize that it will definitely be a tough one.

I've said this so many times, but I'll say it again, the people who have good outcomes tend not to spend any amount of time in forums. So, I think we have a tendency to think that everyone has complications. That's simply not even close to true.