Considerations for surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Considerations for surgery

Hi! I was wandering how rare kyphoscoliosis was. I have a 50 degree thoracic curve and a 40 degree lumbar curve with about a 75 degree kyphosis curve. I have very little pain with no limitations. I have consulted three doctors who all say that I should wait and monitor on a yearly basis. One of these doctors was Keith Bridwell who is considered on of the best. He says 50 percent would do it now and 50 percent would wait. He says I am on the boarderline for surgery. I was wandering how many of you would wait and how many would have the surgery. I am also planning a wedding in March and was wandering if I should go ahead with it. I also need to lose about 50 lbs. I would love some insight for those people who are more experienced then me. I am also scheduled for my first MRI in the next month. I am 27 years old. My 50 degree thoracic is very rigid. I currently tale no medication for pain only ibprofren rarely.

Thanks again,
    Becky
    Last edited by whitney81180; 10-12-2005, 07:43 AM.

Reply to Becky

Hello Becky,
    I am currently considering surgery, too. But I'm quite a bit older-late 40's.
    I do not have kyphosis- a s shaped curve- 47/48. If you're not in pain- I would say wait. It's just recently that my pain has become debilitating. Pretty much done what I wanted- two children; work full-time- up to the last few years. Even then a lot of it has been managed with physical therapy and exercise.
    It is a major surgery and if the doctors say you're borderline...
    They told me that for years. I have an app't today to discuss surgery.
    Just my thoughts....
    CSC
    Idiopathic Scoliosis; Wore a Milwaukee brace; Told by physician it would not progress
    S curve; Surgery date: January 29, 2008!!

Comment