Surgery Oct 13th & 17th

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surgery Oct 13th & 17th

Well, just a couple more days AGAIN 'til the unthinkable. At least that's what has helped me get by these last weeks: Pushing back the bad thoughts as all the worry in the world won't change what is going to happen, good or bad; and I'm sure it will be a combination of both. The last time I was supposed to go in, I got an abscessed tooth THE DAY BEFORE SURGERY! That gave me an extra 2 months to think about things. I have read the recommended book by David Wolpert: Scoliosis Surgery-the Definitive Patient's Reference; and agree that anyone considering surgery should read this easy to understand, excellent guide book. Once the decision is made, finding your own individual peace with it is very important in my book. I have read some positive thinking books and use the tips therein to keep myself at an even keel. I have friends and family who have offered their thoughts and prayers. You have all helped too, sharing your stories and kind thoughts with strangers. I will post when I am able and hope my story can help someone else looking for answers.
    Regards to All,
    Sharon
    PS--I am 54 years old and live in Dayton, Nv. USA
    Singing the Blues
    Female 1951
    A/P Surgery Oct 13th & 17th '05, from T7-L5, 46 degree curve reduced to 19 degrees. Rib hump almost gone, but I have flatback. Thought it was "normal" and I would improve over time. I developed kyphosis above the surgical area. Had surgery with Dr Menmuir in Reno, Nv on October 13, 2010.
    Today I am still plagued with flatback, and I'm considering ALIF surgery.

You will be in my thoughts and prayers during and after your surgery. If you can, have a friend let us know how you are doing. My surgery is Nov 8 & 10. I can only imagine how you are feeling right now....but think about the results! Linda

Comment

Back Attcha

Hi Linda!