Any flute players?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Any flute players?

Hi! I'm 13 and i've had a Boston brace for about 3 weeks and i've been playing the flute for about 5 years. Since i got my brace, it's been harder for me to play because i can't take big quick breaths. (today, i had to stop in mid-sneeze because i coudn't take a big quick breath LOL) If i want to take a big breath, i have to take it slowly. Will this get better?
    Temima

13 years old

wears a boston brace 23/7

has 17 and 23 degree curves
    11 and 8 degree curves w/ brace

Hi MadamMim16

You'll most likely find, with time you'll get used to the different way of taking breaths in a brace...and your body will adapt, it will take time though (if you were playing a Saxophone or Clarinet you'd prolly find circular breathing would work.....don't know how well it'd work with a flute :-P). You also could try loosening your brace slightly when you are playing.

I can relate to your difficulty, throughout my brace wearing years I played (combinations of) the Clarinet, the Bass Clarinet and the Alto Saxophone. Over time I adjusted to breathing differently.....the only time I took the brace off to play was when I was undertaking an exam.

Regards

Alison

Comment

Hi there:

My daughter is also a flute player. She spent 18 months in a TLSO. She always found it more difficult to breathe with the brace on, although it got better over time. Her surgeon let her take the brace off for performances and exams.

Cheers - Patricia
      Patricia
      Scoli Mum from New Zealand
      Daughter Caitlin's surgery 2nd May 2005
      Posterior fusion T3 - L1

Comment

I play the clarinet, but the breathing's probably pretty much the same. I just got used to breathing differently. I got really mad whenever our band director told us to do exercises with expanding our stomachs though. Since I've been out of the brace, I've been having a hard timd adjusting to the "correct" way of breathing.