Breaking the surgery to Employer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breaking the surgery to Employer

Urgh - the more I think about it, the more I think I should have this whole surgery thing sooner rather than later. Thing is, I am nervous about it affecting my career, and telling my employer.

Some background:
    I just passed the Michigan Bar Exam and was sworn in as attorney in May. I now work as a law clerk to a Circuit Court Judge. I am a government employee, with good benefits, including short term disability. Thing is, a law clerk usually only works a year or two before going into private practice. First I thought that was perfect, I could have the surgery after the clerkship, but before starting a "real" job, and not worry about leaving my employer in a bind. But, if I did that I would also not get any employment related disability benefits, and let's face it, benefits are good.

So, I just don't know how to break it to work. Hi... thanks for the short term job. By the way can I have a month (plus?) off for a surgery, and then come back with lifting restrictions, then leave?

Or... wait until go into private practice: (Essentially same thing) Hi... thanks for hiring me, can I get time off?

I want to have the surgery prior to having children, so I can't put it off indefinitely. I am 30 so that clock is ticking more loudly, and I already know I'll be a high risk pregnancy due to a blood clotting disorder I have, so I don't want to push my luck too much.

Sorry so long... but I am interested in knowing how other employers handled the news, and how taking the time off affected your careers.

Advice, info, shared stories, etc. appreciated!
    Meg is Spinewhine
    31 years old with thoracic curve
    Wore Boston brace as teenager, but curve continued to progress.
    Surgery on 12/13/2005 with correction from over 55 degrees to under 25 degrees. (Ya baby!)

The nitty gritty at:
    http://spinewhine.blogspot.com/

employer