Being scheduled for MRI

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Being scheduled for MRI

is this common practice? Do all patients anticipating surgery have one?

I never had an MRI, but I've read about a few people that do. I think it just depends on your doctor and certain particulars of your condition. They may have reason to believe that your scoliosis is being caused by something that could be identified in an MRI.
    ~Carole~
    Used to have an S curve of 55 and 55, but now I'm...
    STRAIGHT-SPINED AND HAPPY!!!
    Surgery July 11th went well, and I'm recovering now!
    Feel free to email me--I'm a bracing and surgery veteran and I love to talk!

Comment

With all three of my surgeries I have never had an MRI. But everyones different and has special needs. I've just had many x-rays, a couple CT Scans, bone density test, and a bone scan.
      18 year old female
      scoliosis curve of 50-60 degrees
      corrective surgery done at age 12( 2001), first surgery a screw went through a vertebra, was then closed up and then re-opened two days later.
      After second surgery, fusion was a success.
      Rods, hooks, and screws put in.
      Fall of 2004 in volleyball, fractured three vertebra's, on June 2nd, 2005 surgery was completed to fix that, old rods were taken out and replaced by stronger ones.

Comment

My daughter's surgeon routinely does MRIs before surgery in case there is anything unusual going on in the back (other than the scoli) that might have to be dealt with first. For example, scoli is sometimes associated with fluid filled cavities in the spinal cord (syrinxes ? ) which need to be drained before fusion is done. He also feels that the MRI gives him a better picture of what to expect when he gets in there, so has them done as a matter of course.