Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm Goin' In!

Hi Everyone!

After months of soul searching, this 53 year old woman has decided to have the surgery. I have a 44 degree thoracic curve and 25ish compensary, rib hump, stenosis, and degenerative discs. I have read a lot of your stories, and it has helped me feel less alone, although making the decision for surgery is still a very personal, hard choice to make, no matter how many went before you. Besides trusting in my Dr., I realize that my curve will never get better, nor will my insurance or personal support system. I wish there was a better solution, but there isn't, and I've S-L-O-W-L-Y come to grips with that I will write when I can and let you know how things went. Hopefully I can help someone else who's going through the agony of being "on the fence." Thanks again for taking the time to share part of your lives with me.
    Sharon
    Singing the Blues
    Female 1951
    A/P Surgery Oct 13th & 17th '05, from T7-L5, 46 degree curve reduced to 19 degrees. Rib hump almost gone, but I have flatback. Thought it was "normal" and I would improve over time. I developed kyphosis above the surgical area. Had surgery with Dr Menmuir in Reno, Nv on October 13, 2010.
    Today I am still plagued with flatback, and I'm considering ALIF surgery.

Our cases are very similar....

Hi Sharon!
    Just to let you know ....I'm pretty much in the same situation you are. Trying to keep working full-time, but it's difficult. I've been advised to have surgery within the next year. I'll be 50 and this is surgery for the first time!
    It's really been getting me down. The stenosis seems to have brought on numbness and leg pain. Just started taking Celebrex and it seems to be helping. Pain is a constant - in varying degrees- every day.
    Let's keep in touch and get through this together.

CSC
    CSC
    Idiopathic Scoliosis; Wore a Milwaukee brace; Told by physician it would not progress