Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I'm a newbie....

Hi All...

I've just been scouring the websites lately for my 12 year old son. He was just diagnosed with mild scoliosis. He has a curve in is lower thoracic, upper lumbar measuring barely 6-7 degrees, according to x-rays. He has an appointment with an orthopedic Dr. tomorrow.

Obviously, he'll probably just be observed for awhile. I'm hoping our chances for progression are pretty low since there is no notable family history of scoliosis.

Thanks for listening...I've found all of your posts to be very informative and helpful.
    Donna

Donna, welcome and we are all thankful you found the scoliosis this early. We all wish we had time to campaign for earlier, more accurate checks so people don't end up finding out as late as my daughter did at 45 degree. Keep a check and you should do fine! How did you find his scoliosis, by the way? Kris

Comment

Thanks

Hi Kris and thanks for the welcome.

A degree that slight I never would have been able to find on my own. Our pediatrician recommended my son get an x-ray after his regular yearly exam. He must have a good eye for this sort of thing. Without the Dr.'s keen eye, even if the degree of curvation had been larger, I can't say I would have recognized it right away. But I'll surely keep my eyes open this year.

Our Orthopedic appointment today went well. He feels that my son just needs some observation for the next few years while he's growing. He recommended that I have him X-rayed again in a year.

We have no family history of scoliosis and I believe the Dr. thinks his risk will be lower for progression.
      Donna

Comment