Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Please Help, I'm a Newbie to NSF!

Hello Everyone-
    I recently discovered NSF while researching for an article that I wrote about my personal experience with Scoliosis. (this article is posted for reading in Diagnostic Procedures)...Believe it or not, my last visit to an Orthopedist was 4-5 years ago...following that visit, I was told that I needed to seriously begin to consider surgical options b/c my curves had reached over 40 degrees. My family and I decided that since I was about to begin college, a whole new chapter in my life with a clean slate and I had no back pain, that we would forget about surgery until it was unavoidable...Well, today 5 years later, I have graduated, I'm 22, I have moderate back pain and I have no idea how badly my scoliosis has progressed! After writing my personal story and discovering this site, I have decided to face my fears and see a doctor to talk about surgical options and see where I now stand...
    In 2000 I was told that the only available surgery for me would be to have rods placed in my back against my spine to stop progression (this is of course after I had already been braced for some time)...I was told that the rod surgery was my only option and that it would greatly limit my mobility and athletic ability...Now, as I read online and here, I see there are new options...new surgical procedures!!
    Can you all PLEASE tell me about what type of surgery you had? What were you curves like and were that changed after surgery? Did your uneven hips/shoulders really straighten out? Can you honestly still move, flex like you could before? I mean, is it noticeable that you have had surgery and can't move your back in certain ways?
    Sorry this is a long question, but I would greatly appreciate any answers or information you can give me...It's great to hear others like me talk about their condition.
    Thanks!
    Last edited by HAnn521; 06-24-2005, 02:18 PM.