A couple questions.. just curious

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• A couple questions.. just curious

I am not sure if this is mentioned elsewhere. I do know this thread is open to anyone and if you want you can just message me with your response.

#1 - How soon after surgery do they usually say to wait before you can be intimate again?

#2 - Do the rods set off detectors at the airport? And how long until you can fly/take the bus etc?

#3 -My curves go from T-1 to L-5, will I still be able to bend after my spine fuses? (As a lab tech I frequently am required to bend to get my patient's blood.. I was wondering if I should change careers or not.)

What other restrictons are usually given? I know all these questions will probably be answered by my doctor but I seriously value the opinions of everyone on here and would like to be more prepared for what I'm getting into.

Thanks in advance!
    Age 28
    diagnosed at age 12
    wore a boston brace until age 14
    No surgery, was on "wait and watch" till recently. Got a SpineCor (Jan 27th) to help ease the pain.
    T-curve 73 degrees with severe rotation (curves to the right)
    L-curve 45 degrees with slightly less severe rotation than my T-curve (curves to the left)

1994 - 5'10" - T-?/L-? (i forget what they really were)
    2006 - 5' 4" - T-56/L-40
    2008/09 - 5' 4" - T-73/L-45

1- Not sure on the first one

2- Nope. I haven't had any trouble with getting through court house and airport security at all.

3- You can still bend, just not your back. My friend has a fusion that stops at T4 and it took some adjusting, but she is able to bend at the hips perfectly well enough,
    Blair

Dec 15th, 2003 @ age of 20
    Posterior Fusion and CD Horizon instrumentation T2-L1.
    Surgery by Dr. Herkowitz- Beaumont Hospital of Royal Oak, Michigan
    Excellent correction of 52 degree single left thoracolumbar curve. Slight curve remains in unfused lumbar region but seems stable.