I feel for you

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I feel for you

Angel, I know how you are feeling. I am similar to you. I was diagnosed in the 7th grade and had to wear a brace until I graduated from high school. I have lived most of my life with a 28 degree curve. Then back at the beginning of this year, I started having excruciating pain in my lower back. Some days I could not walk. I have two small children ages 3 and 1. I went and saw a chiropractor, it didn't help. At this point I had no idea that scoliosis will get worse over time. By the time I made the apointment to see the surgen my curve was at 70 degrees. Having children will really put a huge strain on your back even if you don't have scoliosis. We suspect that the pregnancies had a major imact on the quick progression of my curve. After the chiropratcor didn't help, I went to see a doctor who suggested we do an MRI. The MRI showed a lot of inflammation and I was told that I had arthritis. I wanted to have a surgical consultation. When I got into see the surgeon. We discovered that my the curve had put a lot of wear and tear on my discs and that I had bone spurs. The surgeon told me that my spine would only continue to get worse if left alone. He said that if I didn't have surgery now, that I would have to have it done later on. At some point in my life, surgery would have to be done. And the more I wait, the worse it will get. Because of my curve, I had only one good disc left, the bottom disc. He told me that if I have the surgery now, it would be better. Reasons being, that I still have that good disc which would make things easier. Instead of having to do two surgeries, they could do only one. He left the decision completely up to me.