First Time Surgery At 57

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Time Surgery At 57

I'm almost 100% sure of going for scoliosis (with kyphosis) surgery but . . . the more I research the more I know I should do this, but there's always a doubt about doing major "elective" surgery.

I am currently a tennis coach who will probably stop coaching tennis and move into intramurals.

I have a 50 degree curve which has gone from 47-46-50 within a period of five years. The only surgeon I've gone to see is Keith Bridwell from Wash U. I think he's one of the best. He says that 50% of the surgeons would say do the surgery and probably 50% would say don't do it.

Am I crazy for not getting a second opinion? Bridwell did say that there was a 95% likelihood of me getting worse. If I do the surgery, there's an 80% likelihood of the results being great, a 15% likelihood of my saying why did I do this and a 5% likelihood that something not good would happen.

My major concern is that I live alone and while I can get help from my daughter (who has a 5 year old child) she won't be staying with me. The surgery is proposed to be from T3-L4. Will I be able to get around (like walk) when I get home from the hospital? The nurse at the doctor's office said sure, but I figured I'd asked those who have done this.

Does anyone play tennis or golf after doing scoliosis surgery? I have adjusted to the limitations currently placed on my body by the scoliosis. I move fine one way and not good the other way.

As a person in athletics, I've always been used to having some discomfort. Sometimes my hip hurts and there is a noticeable rib hump. If you asked me whether or not I've had pain because of my condition, I'd probably say no because I've learned to ignore it.

Any thoughts would be great.

Lynn
    Last edited by Nanalulu; 03-24-2005, 06:44 PM.

Hi Lynn...

You've asked some excellent questions.