Getting ready for surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Getting ready for surgery

Has any one had an appointment with or surgery with Vincent Arlet in Philadelphia?

How was the shower handled--was a hand held shower spray helpful? And using the toilet?

Please list some of the other items that helped.

I will have help day and night--thank goodness.

How do you get up and sit down? What position is the choice for sleeping in the bed and how is it maintained?

Hi lordswild,

Yes, Dr. Arlet was my surgeon. Do you have a surgery scheduled already with him? Best of luck to you. He is an excellent surgeon so I think you will be in good hands. I would just say that I felt the magnitude of the recovery was sort of downplayed by his staff. I wish I had had more of an idea of what to expect. You will see as you read the forum that the recovery is very slow so patience is key. I'm still learning.

There are many good threads on how to prepare for surgery so I would encourage you to do some searches. I didn't personally use a handheld showerhead, but it might be helpful. I would definitely get a raised toilet seat so you can use it if you need to. Sometimes I used it and sometimes I didn't. I would sort of do whatever felt comfortable.

Grabbers are also very helpful (you won't be able to pick things off the floor for a while) and I know some people have used devices to help them put on socks and shoes.

Laxatives are key! Seriously can't stress this enough! You need lots of them. The doctor's office will go over this with you, too.

You will probably sleep on your back for a while (at least I did, and I'm a side sleeper). And the PTs at the hospital will show you how to get up and out of bed by "logrolling". If you have some time before your surgery, I would get as strong as you can to help you get in and out of bed. It really helped for me.

-spring
    Surgery Jan 6, 2014 at 38 yrs
    Posterior Fusion T10-L4, osteotomy 1 lev.