fuse one level L2-L3

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• fuse one level L2-L3

I have a lumbar-thoracic scoliosis- apex of lumbar curve at L2-L3. The one disk is degenerated- rest of spine seems OK. There is herniation and a little nerve root compression. Went to one surgeon- he said duke out the degeneration or a T2-pelvis fusion. Tried to live with it- 6 more months have gone by. Some days I can hardly sit at all. Need to work 3-4 more years for a meager pension. Age 53. Wish I could work 7 more years or longer. Then went to HSS in NYC. A surgeon said we could fuse just that level. Curious- anyone had just one level fused at the apex of lumbar scoliosis? He would use a thin/small spacer for the disk. Laminectomy with instrumentation for the nerve pressure.

Also wondering what that recovery is like?

How it might affect my rotation?

Hi....

I didn't entirely understand your post, but I can tell you that, once one has recovered from a 1 level fusion at L2-3, there would be very little loss of rotation. From what I've seen, recovery for a 1 level fusion is probably a little faster than multi-level fusions.

Since there is a huge difference between the two recommended surgeries, I would probably go for a 3rd opinion, and make sure it's from someone who treats a lot of scoliosis patients. If possible, I would try for a 3rd practice, and not tell the new surgeon what the other two have recommended, at least until after they've made their own recommendation. I don't recall ever hearing of a 1 level fusion in a scoliosis patient, but I wouldn't rule it out. I think it would probably depend on a lot of things including the type of curve(s) you have, the size of your curve(s), your age, etc. One of the surgeons I work with has done a lot of short fusions in mostly older scoliosis patients, to treat just the areas that are causing pain. I think they're usually 2-3 levels. The results have been very successful so far.