i'm really nervous

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• i'm really nervous

hi i am new to this website it seams good, i am 37 and i am awaiting surgery, i have a 74 degree curve and progressing fast ,i am really nervous and worried about my after care and leaving my kids, i have never been apart from them ,my husband is great. i hav'nt had any information on what exactly they are going to do , i think this is why i am so anxious i am hoping to have it done by march, please could anyone give me any advice about the operation - during and after . i am from the uk and the web sites here are not so good , also i have just given up smoking as i read that fusion may not be so successful.
    thanks sarah

Hi Sarah,

I'm 55 and had a double-stage scoliosis operation (for a similar curve at 77 degrees) at the end of November. Every case is different, but what helped me was getting as many questions as possible answered from the surgeon in advance, and especially, being committed to seeing it through, and my husband also.

Recovery is a slog, but easier in retrospect: I can see now that improvement has been steady, and each of the problems has either reduced and/or become easier to deal with as the right level of medication etc. gets established. By now I have a reasonable time pain-wise, with half the dosage that I started out with. I can spend my days reading, listening to music and the radio, going for a walk each day and having still rather brief visits. Simple housework is OK - ironing and chopping up veg, but not stretching or hoovering. I expect to begin back at work after Easter.