PDA

View Full Version : Considering surgery

thatrobyno
12-14-2012, 01:51 PM
Hi all. I've been lurking around here off and on for a couple years. I was always someone who said I'd NEVER get surgery for my scoliosis (64 degrees thoracic, 64 degrees lumbar), but my chronic pain has become so overwhelming, I'm truly considering it for the first time. I am turning 40 in less than two weeks and I feel like I'm turning 80. I've tried just about every non-surgical treatment under the sun and am at the end of my rope.

My fears -- I am an actress and yoga teacher and I worry I'd lose my ability to make a living (and these are my passion in life). Without freedom of movement, I don't know what I'd do. I'm terrified.

I'm also very nervous about the fact that while surgery might help my curvature from getting worse (I've been holding steady for the past 3 years with the help of exercise), I might end up with all sorts of complications and new pain and new medications.

I trust my spinal surgeon -- Dr. Christopher DeWald in Chicago -- and I've been seeing him for about 5 or 6 years. He said I'd really have to think seriously about surgery when the pain became overwhelming or when I hit 70 degrees. I see him on January 10th for my annual check-in and I think I might have to tell him I need surgical intervention.

I am getting so very depressed as I'm not living a full life with the amount of pain I have...but I'm scared that life after fusion will be even more limited. I'm between a rock and a hard place.

Please help -- any support, suggestions, or person stories would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks so much!

JenniferG
12-14-2012, 02:50 PM