PDA

View Full Version : My turn to Straighten up and Fly Right!

AngieM
09-07-2012, 08:53 PM
I have been following and learning from your forum for two years now and am about to have surgery on September 24 with Dr. Lenke. A huge “Thank You!” to all of you as I owe you so much. I am 74 years old (yes, it happens) and was diagnosed with scoliosis (thoracic) at 13 – past my growth spurt and at my adult height. My back didn’t hurt then and still doesn’t. So I put it “behind me,” as I like to say.

In my 40’s I had a thoracic curve of about 30 degrees. But in my 60’s (trying on clothes in a department store), I could see that the small indent on the left side of my lower back had grown to be a big indent. I don’t remember how I found your forum, but am very grateful that I did.

My initial consult with Dr. Lenke was on November 16, 2011 and my Pre-Op appointment was Wednesday, August 15, 2012. I have never tried to post on a forum before, but look forward to meeting you all on the Forum.

All the Best,
Angie

Surgery Planned with Dr. Lenke on Sept. 24, 2012 – 74 years
Thoracic (66 degrees), Lumbar (66 Degrees),
Idiopathic Scoliosis, Kyphosis
Surgery Planned with Dr. Lenke on Sept. 24, 2012
Posterior Spinal Fusion T1/2 – Sacrum

susancook
09-07-2012, 09:14 PM
Welcome, Angie! We have a great group of us "older" persons with scoliosis on the forum. I am 66 and have not had surgery as I was only diagnosed last year although I had pain much before that and tons of physical therapy. What a surprise! I am certain that you are probably in pretty good shape and I think, from what I have heard that you have an awesome surgeon! Best of luck to you!
Another twisted sister, Susan

JenniferG
09-07-2012, 09:18 PM