Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Swimming

Hi all,
    I've been building my walking by slowly adding more blocks and now I think it's time to see if I can help my progress with exercises in the pool. I thought I might walk in the pool and I read on this website (non-Forum section) that backstroke and sidestroke are good.

For others who have done this, when you walk in the water do you walk in barefeet or in water shoes? I have had past problems with plantar fasciitis, but haven't for awhile.

And for sidestroke--I have a left thoracolumbar curve--would it best to swim on my left or right side or both?

Any other suggested techniques?

I used to find breaststroke would stretch me out and make me feel good, but ever since I had a setback a year and a half ago regular swimming doesn't seem to provide relief though I haven't tried it for awhile and maybe it's time to try it again.

And, FYI, at this point, I have not had surgery. Thanks in advance for your suggestions.
    Lisa
    60 degree thorocolumbar curve beginning at T12
    58 years old

Lisazena,