PDA

View Full Version : Denervation...advice

susancook
04-18-2012, 03:04 AM
I have a 36 degree thoracic lumbar scoliois s curve and my pain management MD suggested 2 medial branch blocks with lidocaine and then if I had 80% or more relief of pain from that, then he could do a denervation. Anyone had experienve w/ this? My pain is mostly a buring R sided pain and pain over the spine. I am in an "8-9" pain in the evening, most evenings. Any help in assisting me to understnad this would be helpful Thanks.

rohrer01
04-18-2012, 03:22 AM
First of all, WELCOME!

I am a fellow pain sufferer with relatively small curves also. I have not had denervation, which I'm guessing is the same as nerve ablation? What levels are you having pain and where specifically is your pain?

jrnyc
04-18-2012, 02:48 PM
i have had nerve ablation...didn't do much for my severe lumbar pain, though...
but that is not to say it wouldn't help you....
the nerves grow back anyway....

jess

susancook
04-19-2012, 12:48 AM
First of all, WELCOME!

I am a fellow pain sufferer with relatively small curves also. I have not had denervation, which I'm guessing is the same as nerve ablation? What levels are you having pain and where specifically is your pain?

Everyone on this forum is so good at knowing exactly what level everything is....my pain is in the right side, the concave side of the curse about my bra level. Guess I should get an anatomy book and figure it out. According to my xray, I have "severe degenerative disc disease" from T10 to L5 and "moderate disease" from L5 to S1.

susancook
04-19-2012, 12:51 AM
i have had nerve ablation...didn't do much for my severe lumbar pain, though...
but that is not to say it wouldn't help you....
the nerves grow back anyway....

jess

Thanks for your response. I do understand that it is a temporary fix....if at all, but I would love some pain relief, even temporarily!

Pooka1
04-19-2012, 06:44 AM