Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Trying to decide to do first time surgery with Dr. Lenke

Hello,
    I have been reading posts on this forum for a year and I have finally decided to ask for advice. I was diagnosed with mild scoliosis as a teen and never wore a brace and never had surgery. It never bothered me until menopause. My curves have increased about 2 degrees a year over the last 5 years. I have a 48 degree right upper lumber curve and 41 degree thoracolumber kyphosis. I am 53 years old and now have radiating pain into my right leg and back and hip pain upon any type of exercise or chores. I am a former ballet instructor and I don't even exercise any more because it increases my pain level. Over the past year I have been getting steroid epidural injections that help for a few months at a time. I have had appointments with Dr. Boachie and Dr. Lenke and if I was going to have surgery I think I would choose Dr Lenke. No one has said I must have surgery right away but my life has become so limited...there is so much I can't do....always looking for a chair to sit down. But I am so afraid of the surgery and a possible bad outcome that will put me in a worse position then I am in now. (at least I can sit down and be out of any pain) I am afraid I will have constant pain after surgery.
    I guess I am looking for some positive information from any Dr, Lenke patients.
    I should thank all of you for sharing your stories and advice as I have been reading them and getting lots of great info already.
    Stacy
    Stacy
    Surgery 2016 T-4 to Sacrum with Dr Samuel Cho Mount Sinai NYC
    48 degree right upper lumber curve
    41 degree thoracolumbar kyphosis

Hi Stacy

True sciatica is where you have the leg pain.....and is usually caused by lumbar herniation of some degree.