First Time here & surgery likely

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Time here & surgery likely

My name is Angel and I am 35 yrs old. I was diagnosed with scoliosis when I was in 8th grade and braced until I graduated from High School. My curvature was then 32 degrees and continued to increase gradually at about 1 degree every 5-6 years.

I have suddenly developed pain in my midback this past spring and it hurts when I breathe deeply. My xrays today showed a curvature of 56 degrees. When I was there in April my curvature was 50 degrees and they have always been let's wait and see if it progresses. Now all of the sudden it progresses more aggresively than it ever has in 7 months! I also have syringomyelia which is a cyst-like cavity inside my spinal cord which really complicates things.

I will now be going to another dr to see about surgery. The dr I say today said I could wait another 6 months to a year to see if my curvature progresses. The drs keep telling me it shouldn't progress after I stop growing but it has progresses from 32 degrees so obviously I'm not in the norm. I REALLY dread surgery as I have 4 children, 3 of them being triplets that are 4 yrs old. But what are some of the reasons why it would all the sudden progress more quickly, and are there added risks if I wait for surgery?

Any advice you have would be helpful. Thank you so much!

Angel

Progression in Adulthood