Rod?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rod?

I have a 45degree curve in my lumbar area, my neurosurgeon (who I am told is one of the best in the region) wants to put a rod from my neck down and fix a herniated disk in my lumber as well. I have a 14 month old son and I'm scared to death to have this surgery, but the pain is getting to where I can't take it anyore. I have an infection that won't go away and the antibiotics make me sick, so theywon't do my steriod injections anymore. I'm so tired of pain pills being my only option...

Any ideas/advice/stories on this type of surgery would be much appreciated. Thank you.

annielizs

Hi there,

I am sorry to hear of your pain. I would recommend you get at least one if not two other opinions from experienced scoliosis surgeons, who are almost always orthopedists (a few are neurosurgeons but not many I don't think). You can look for member surgeons of the Scoliosis Research Society (SRS) by visiting www.srs.org and doing a geographical search for your area. Some people who don't live in or near a larger city may need to travel a bit to see someone who is very familiar with this type of surgery.

I am wondering why the fusion/rod would go all the way to the base of your neck if your curve is lumbar? I was fused a year ago for a 47 degree lumbar curve and many lower lumbar degenerative problems, and my fusion extends to T8, which is about the bra-line. I would want to know why they are proposing to go so high in your case.

You mention you have an infection that won't clear and you don't tolerate antibiotics...You would absolutely have to get the infection completely cleared (wherever it is) prior to surgery. You do not want to risk getting an infection on your new hardware or in the surgical site.