Looking to reduce back pain

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Looking to reduce back pain

This thread is not related to my topic, but I need a thread with enough people to get some feedback.

I have a severe curve (Lumbar 87, Thoracic 70) and am looking to manage pain by strengthening core muscles. I talked to trainer at the gym I go to and I would consider this were it not for the cost (about $60/session at about 2 sessions per week). So I've started searching for other ways to get training. A friend mentioned a DVD set called P90X. Although they offer a 90-day money-back guarantee, I hesitate because its purpose is more than what I need. I may still try this, but in the meantime I want to see what other suggestions are out there. DVDs sound good because it's something I'd have for life.

Thanks in advance for your input.
    as of 9/04:
    upper thoracic 23
    lower thoracic 57
    lower lumbar 80
    pelvic tilt of L3 38

The months prior to surgery, I set out to get fit. Mainly I walked (as fast as I could) and kayaked. I played a little tennis and had begun to run leading up to my surgery date. In the last few weeks I exercised 4-5 hours a day and was jumping out of my skin, feeling great. A most unexpected side-effect was the reduction in pain. I had hardly any pain at the time of surgery. I knew I would not be able to keep up that momentum and if I didn't, the pain would return so I was still happy to have surgery. I still fast-walk 3-5 times a week.
    Surgery March 3, 2009 at almost 58, now 63.
    Dr. Askin, Brisbane, Australia
    T4-Pelvis, Posterior only
    Osteotomies and Laminectomies
    Was 68 degrees, now 22 and pain free

Comment

Looking to reduce/manage back pain