thinking about scheduling surgery with dr. rand

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• thinking about scheduling surgery with dr. rand

I'm new to this forum and like others mentioned, am so glad it's here!

I was braced in middle school but my thoracic curve has progressed to just slightly under 50 and my other curve is around 30 degrees.

Dr. Rand basically said I could go either way with surgery. I am in pain but I also am just sick and tired of having a deformity. He would fuse T1-T12.

I just got married this summer and have an amazing husband who loves me and supports me. My parents don't want me to do the surgery but ultimately it's my decision.

I am going to a spinal fusion class in Feb. so hopefully that will give me more insight. I'm hoping to have the surgery this summer because I'm a teacher.

I guess what's holding me back is the fact that I'm not in unbearable pain and it's such a major surgery to have. I'm nervous about all of the risks!

Thanks for reading
    Christina

Such a tough decision! I don't have an answer for you but I do wish I could have had my surgery when I was younger; I was sixty five and was in some kind of pain most of my adult life. Because of your age you are probably flexible and therefore will probably get a good correction.
    Dr. Rand was my surgeon and I can't say enough about him. That being said, it is very major surgery and that fact has to be concidered. Big help huh?!
    Also I live quite close to you, in Chelmsford and in Charlestown (on our boat in Boston Harbor) in the summer. Our surgeries would not be simular but I would be glad to help in any way I could
    Diagnosed age 10. No treatment
    Thoracic curve:?
    Lumbar curve: 50 degrees with rotation
    Surgery Sept.16,2009
    Fusion T-11 to pelvis
    Dr. Frank Rand
    New England Baptist Hospital

Comment

Thanks so much for your response. You are right about what you wrote...and there is no easy answer!