Very depressed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Very depressed

Hi everyone. I am 5 months post today. I am still having a lot of pain in my lowest disc space. Most of the time it travels around my right hip and down my quad. I have been working full-time for over 2 months and the pain from doing this is weighing me down terribly. I missed 2 12 hour shifts last week due to jury duty and felt soooooo much better. I thought I was finally improving. Now after I am back at work the pain has returned. I can make it well about 6-7 hours into the day and then the pain starts and I literally drag myself through the rest of my shift. I can't take it anymore and don't know what to do. I am considering switching to nights or to another ICU with a lower ratio of patients or just going back out of work on short term disability which if 50% my pay. This is all very depressing......I don't like change but I am torturing myself. No one at work is really sympathetic anymore I am afraid to mention it for fear they will think I am whining. I am however holding myself up better on a good note. The only time I bend over is when I am very busy or very exhausted (which is often but much less than before). Has anyone else dealt with this?? Did it improve?? Should I consider fusing to my pelvis?? Should I wait and see?? What should I do about work?? I have been exercising 2-3x a week when the pain is not too bad. I started seeing a Chiropracter 2 weeks ago. Then today I got a massage. Still not much relief. I realize I am being incredibly impatient I am just at my wits end and full of disappointment, regret and depressed.
    Thanks,
    Janet
    Last edited by jsully; 11-11-2010, 08:22 PM.
    36 year young cardiac RN
    old curve C 29, T 70, L 50
    new curve C 7, T 23, L 20
    Surgery June 11, UCH, Dr. Cronen T2-L5, posterior
    Revision December 20 L5-S1 with pelvic fixation
    and Osteotomy to L3 at Tampa General Hospital

Hi Janet-