Surgery scheduled...post op set up?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Surgery scheduled...post op set up?

First off, I have been in and out of this forum for several years now...what a life saver (sanity saver?) it has been!! Thanks to all of you who have taken the time to help us with our questions.

I have a 66 degree lumbar and 48 degree thoracic curve. I've been very fortunate to be able to stay quite active in my adult life. Skiiing (snow and water), mountain biking, skating, hiking, snowmobiling, etc. I truly believe it has kept me more flexible and strong, enabling me to better stabilize my curves. I was determined in high school not to let it stop me from living my life!!!
    However, the last few years HAVE been more of a challenge. Epidural injections have made the difference between working and not working. It doesn't take away all the pain, but sure takes that nasty edge off so I can still function somewhat normally.
    I wore a Boston brace in HS for 3 years, and have maintained my curve degrees over the years. But I am now 48, and I have shrunk 3 inches since January... I KNEW something was changing, just by the feeling and nerve pains. Due to my age, and the rapid progression, we have scheduled surgery for January 10th. Oh man, that is hard to actually say it!! One thing to think about doing it someday, another thing ENTIRELY to actually set a date. But I have put off surgery for over 30 years-I feel fortunate to have been able to wait that long.