First Time Here - 47 y/o contemplating Surgery - Dr. Lonner

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Time Here - 47 y/o contemplating Surgery - Dr. Lonner

Hi everyone, I have been reading these posts for months, I want to thank you all for your candor and personal experiences. I was diagnosed 45 degrees thoracic at age 14, brace for a bit, and now at 47 I have been advised to have the surgery top to bottom, with possible pelvic fixation (depending on an MRI of lumbar.) My curves are now 64T and 62L. I am reasonable fit and heal well (had acl reconstruction 2008 and healed VERY quickly). I am planning on the surgery mid-March 2011 so that I can go back to work in September (I am a teacher) I figured I'd include the summer for any possible additional healing time. My doctor (so far, I am going to try a couple) said some of his patients similar to me have gone back after 8-10 weeks. I was wondering if anybody knows and/or has experience with Dr. Baron Lonner and the Hospital for Joint Diseases in NYC and can give me any advice? As it gets closer I'm sure I'll have more but I just wanted to begin here. By the way, whenever I get really scared I read the thread titaniumed started about reasons WHY to fuse - SO HELPFUL!!!! So, thanks in advance for any words of wisdom.

Cathy
    Cathy
    2 sons, one Syracuse University graduate (working for the Mets now), one college sophomore, one great husband and two fabulous cats
    54 years old March 5
    AIS 45 degrees Thoracic at 14, Milwaukee brace for one year in 1977 then in 2012 I found Dr. Baron Lonner ❤️
    Surgery April 8 2015
    Presurgical curves T77 L66
    Post surgical T27 L22
    Fused T3-S1 pelvic fixation, osteotomies and all the other stuff but you know what? It's done...

Welcome Cathy!