How do you know when you're fused?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you know when you're fused?

I had an appointment with Dr. Kebaish yesterday- one year + three months post surgeries and I'm happy to report all is well! In fact, my next appointment is one year from now - next July.

I am to keep walking and biking, add more PT to strengthen neck muscles. (have had cervical issues for years, but one thing at a time) No restrictions - at all, but use common sense.

These are my x-rays from yesterday. My main question was how can I tell I'm fusing? Dr. K says I am but I don't see it. Of course I'm not a doctor or radiologist so I don't see how they differ from the x-rays I had in January or the ones I had last September or the ones before that. They all look the same to me...?

Is anyone else having the same trouble believing they are fusing/fused? Can you see it in your x-rays?

PA whole spine July 2010
    PA Lumbar July 2010
    Lateral whole spine July 2010
    Lateral Lumbar July 2010
    Last edited by doodie; 07-17-2010, 06:59 AM. Reason: Re-labeling AP to PA photos
    Julie - 51 yrs old

Dx'd 1973 - 43* thoracic curve / rotation
    Wore Milwaukee brace 1973 - 1979
    Pre-surgery: 63* thoracic / 52* lumbar curves

Surgeries: P - March 16, 2009 - Fused T3-S2 with pelvic fixation
    A -April 14, 2009 - Fused L5-S1
    Achieved +70% Correction
    Dr. Khaled Kebaish, (and team) Johns Hopkins Hospital, Baltimore

Standing x-ray
    New Spine 03/19/2009
    New Spine Lateral 03/19/2009

Originally posted by doodie View Post
    I had an appointment with Dr. Kebaish yesterday- one year + three months post surgeries and I'm happy to report all is well! In fact, my next appointment is one year from now - next July.

I am to keep walking and biking, add more PT to strengthen neck muscles. (have had cervical issues for years, but one thing at a time) No restrictions - at all, but use common sense.