Prior surgery fitness level vs surgery correction

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prior surgery fitness level vs surgery correction

I'm wondering if being active or not active before surgery make any differences with the degrees of surgery correction and cosmetic outcome?

I've been doing yoga, pilates for 15 years and lately have been adding light weight training. We all know that the curves on the scoliosis also makes one side of muscle stronger which pulls the spine on one side and the other side of muscle is weaker.

I wonder if I work out and keep the muscle toned and strong to hold the spine in place, would that decrease the degree of correction? Or the tone muscle will hold the new correction better?

Can people whom had surgery share their thoughts about this on their outcome and their fitness level before surgery?
    62/75 (T4-T9 68 degree & T11 - L4 80 degree) 10/19/2010
    45/50 year 2000
    36 yrs old
    Considering, researching surgery for the first time
    S. California
    http://s1210.photobucket.com/albums/...ashionista889/

It's hard to say whether fitness = better correction or easier recovery. I'm not sure how it could be measured. However, I felt a stronger heart might be in my favour so I did cardio exercise and weight bearing exercise to increase my bone density. Which is a fancy way of saying I walked a lot, very fast.

My bone density was measured 9 months prior to surgery. I was told my bones were "average" for my age (57.) I had another bone density scan last week and I was told my bone density had increased since the last scan, at an age when it would be expected to decrease.

Now whether this had anything to do with faster/stronger fusing, I have no idea.