PDA

View Full Version : Degree of correction

JennyRN
06-09-2010, 03:14 PM
After seeing the results of my bending xrays, I was wondering what degree of correction I might end up with.
What degree of correction did you start with?
What did your bending xrays indicate your level of correction would be?
And finally what is your actual degree of curvature after surgery?
My surgery is one week from tomorrow, and I am getting more and more nervous by the minute!

jsully
06-09-2010, 03:19 PM
Hi Jenny,
I have a 72 degree thoracic curve and I believe a 44 degree lumbar. I know that when I bent to the side the lumbar was about 11 degrees but I don't remember what the thoracic was. Good luck on your surgery next week. Can't wait to keep up with all of you on the "other side".
Janet

JennyRN
06-09-2010, 03:24 PM
Thank you Janet. Are you as nervous as I am? What are your plans for going back to work afterwards?

jsully
06-09-2010, 03:56 PM
Jenny,
I am nervous, excited and saddened all at the same time, like a emotional roller coaster! I hope to return to my job in 12 weeks. That is my only plan right now. I will have to work on my endurence at home and just pray I will be able to return. Otherwise, I may have to look into another type of nursing. I hope I don't have to but if I am not healed enough in that time to do my job, that is what I will have to do. I only have 12 weeks of sick time banked and do not think I can afford to live on 60% STD or LTD till I am healed. I believe that they do have to hold a position for 3 mo FMLA and 3 mo GML. Good Luck!
Janet

Back-out
06-09-2010, 04:38 PM
JennyRN

Hang on. What are these "bending Xrays" and what do they show? What direction does one bend?

Thinking maybe one can do a rough check at home, re flexibility. I always heard flexibility determined how much correction could be gotten and on that account, had one bright spot about the whole deal (still being hyper-flexible thanks to my Ehler Danlo's)