No announcement yet.

Pre-surgery (long time on pain killers)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pre-surgery (long time on pain killers)

Hey everyone,
    This is my first time posting. I am kind of in the stage of seeing a surgeon for the fisrt time about my scoliosis. I will address this question with my surgeon, however I wanted to ask you people too. HOW MANY PEOPLE HAVE BEEN ON OPOID MEDS. FOR YRS? I have been on some kind of narcotic for at least 15 years. And I have had some bad experiences with my last two surgeries because of it. I have been on methadone for seven yrs. It is six times stronger than the pain reliever they had in the pump(dilaudid)
    for my first back surgery. They couldn't figure out why my pain wasn't under control. Someone dropped the ball. Because I had told them many times before the surgery that I was going to need extra care in the pain managment department. Well they figured it out and got things working. BUT I was just wondering if anyone has had this problem.(It was a nightmare!)
    I am 58 yrs. old. I had a double fusion in 2006. (L3/4 L4/5 with cages rods and screws.) I didn't ever really get over the pain in my back. Although it took care of leg pain for a while. Then everything collapsed and I ended up with scoliosis. Hence now I am seeing my second surgeon. First one didn't think he could handle it I guess. This one supposed to has done surgery on more scoliosis patients. I see him Friday. As I said- MY QUESTION IS "Has anyone been on narcotics for a LONG TIME before surgery.?" Any advice or suggestions appreciated. I have a ptretty significant curve.(firt doc said 40 drgrees?) And so it will be a long incision is my guess. Will know more tomorrow. Thanks for listening. Linda
    Linda Brozik~~60 yrs. old at time of Lenke's first surgery. 62 now!
    Surgery 2006 L3/4 L4/5 double fusion/ instumentation/ With 2 cages
    This started adult onset scoliosis