hi, I'm new here and preparing for surgery

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hi, I'm new here and preparing for surgery

Hi, I'm Lili and I'm 15 years old. I have a 50 degree upper curve and a 29 degree lower curve, and my surgery date is October 25. I'm having a posterior spinal fusion from T4 to L2, I think.

These boards seem like a great, supportive place, and its been very informative and interesting reading the various threads.

Today was my pre-op, and it made everything seem so much more real. I'm worried about the surgery a little, and I was wondering if anyone had any tips to make the hospital stay easier. What was it like? How bad was the pain?

Also, how was going back to school? I'm a sophmore this year, and I'm kind of worried about missing so much school. Also, how bad is it to be pushed around a little bit after surgery? I go to an overcrowded school, so the halls are often full, and you get pushed around from all the people.

Thanks!
    -Lili
    formerly:
    50* upper curve
    29* lower curve

surgery was October 25- doing great!

Hi Lili,
    Let your school know before you go in to hospital. They can arrange work to be sent home or a tutor for you. In my daughters case they allowed her to leave class a little early an/or arrive a little late so that she would not have to be in the hallways when they are crowded.
    When you are in the hospital you will be on a lot of pain medication so it shouldn't be too bad. By the time you are ready to home the worst of it is over and you will be able to find 'comfortable' positions where it doesn't hurt. I'm not saying there will be no pain, but it will be manageable. Mind set plays a big part as well, if you think 'it is going to hurt' you will tense and it will hurt. They more relaxed you can be you less pain you will have and the easier it will be to deal with. Easier said than done I know.
    Best wishes.
    Cheryl.

Comment

What to expect!